Luxury Phinisi  Labuan Bajo
Menu

Which Komodo National Park rules shape a luxury phinisi trip

On this page
  1. Which rules matter most on a private charter?
  2. How does SiOra registration work?
  3. How large is the daily quota?
  4. Who guides on Rinca and Gili Lawa?
  5. Do you need a permit to fly a drone?
  6. What happens without a ticket?
  7. How do the rules change the itinerary?
  8. Which published prices did we check?
  9. What do readers ask about Komodo park rules?
  10. Which sources support this page?
  11. How do I reach the desk?

By Luxury Phinisi Labuan Bajo Editorial Desk

Sourced figures: prices in the table carry their source and check month. A published rate is not a quote and not our offer, and nothing here is legal advice.

Weathered wooden jetty over clear shallow water leading to a beach and grassy hill on Kanawa Island
A wooden jetty at Kanawa Island, Komodo National Park. Photo: Jordy Meow, CC BY 3.0, Wikimedia Commons, resized. Illustrative photo: not a vessel, project, or service of this site, and not a vessel on offer.

Five rules shape a luxury phinisi trip in Komodo National Park: advance registration through SiOra, a daily visitor quota, ticket names that match passports, park-run guiding at Loh Buaya and Gili Lawa, and a permit for drones. A five-times fine for entering without a ticket has also been announced, though direct application may start only next year.

Which rules matter most on a private charter?

A private boat changes who you share the deck with. It does not take you outside the park's rules, and we found no source that exempts charter guests from any of them. The park is large: UNESCO describes three major islands, Rinca, Komodo and Padar, and numerous smaller ones across 219,322 hectares. Wikipedia gives a smaller total, 1,733 square kilometres, so the two sources disagree and we print both. The park authority lists World Heritage status from 1991 and a Biosphere Reserve core zone from 1977. A multi-day route can cross much of it, and the rules follow you at each stop.

Which rules matter most on a private charter?
RuleWho actsSourceWhat we could not confirm
SiOra registration, no walk-in ticketsThe licensed operator registers youNeptune Liveaboards' guideThe cut-off for your boat
Name must match passportYou supply it, the operator enters itNeptune Liveaboards' guideHow a mismatch is handled at the park
Daily visitor quotaPark authority sets itIndonesia ExpatThe split by site, and the figure after further top-ups
Guiding at Loh Buaya and Gili LawaKSU Taman Nasional KomodoPark authorityRanger charges on Padar and Komodo Island
Drone permitYou or your operator applyPark authorityThe permit fee and how long approval takes
Five-times finePark authorityKompasWhether it is applied yet

How does SiOra registration work?

SiOra is the park's registration system, and the park authority offers the app on its tariff and carrying capacity page. The figures on that page are published as images, which is why the ticket amounts in the price table on this page come from Kompas's report and not from the page text. Neptune Liveaboards' guide says registration has been required since 1 April 2026, that there are no walk-in tickets, and that licensed operators register their passengers. This comes from an operator and not from the authority, but the official channel it points to is real and easy to check.

In practice, then, you are unlikely to register yourself. Your job is to hand the provider correct details on time, and the same guide is specific about the risk: the name entered must match the passport exactly, and any change to the party close to departure has to get to the operator fast. For a private group this is the point most likely to go wrong, because a charter is often booked by one person for others who join late or travel under a longer legal name than the one they use every day.

Ask three things in writing. By what date does the boat need final names? Who corrects an error if one is found on the morning of departure? And does the operator's rate include the tickets, or only the registration work? Kompas reports the tariffs under Government Regulation 36/2024 as per person per day, so the number of park days affects the bill where tickets are charged separately. Our page on whether park fees are in the charter rate follows the money side of this.

How large is the daily quota?

The most recent report we can point to gives two figures and a temporary top-up. Indonesia Expat reports an annual quota of 365,000 visitors with a daily allocation of 1,000, and the park authority adding 500 visitors a day for September to December 2026. The authority describes the addition as provisional, so treat those numbers as correct for that report and check again for your own dates. We could not confirm the current figure after any further top-ups in late 2026.

Scale gives some context. The same report, citing the park authority, counts 429,509 visits to the park in 2025, which is more than the annual allocation it describes. Quota pressure is therefore a realistic concern and not a formality, particularly on popular days and stops.

The split by site is still open: we could not confirm against any announcement from the authority how the daily number divides between Komodo, Rinca, Padar and Manta Point, so we publish no per-site figures. For planning, the useful question is what your provider does if a preferred stop is full on the day: which alternative would it use, and does that change the price? A sample route like our three-day, two-night outline should be read as a plan that the rules can still adjust.

Who guides on Rinca and Gili Lawa?

At Loh Buaya on Rinca and at Gili Lawa, the park authority names KSU Taman Nasional Komodo and its 50 naturalist guides as the guiding body. The tariff in the price table on this page is per group of five, on the authority's own page, so a large charter party may count as more than one group. Ask your provider how your party will be divided and whether the charge is in the rate.

The two named stops are all the official page covers, so ranger charges on Padar and Komodo Island stay unconfirmed. Barefoot Yachts names ranger-led dragon walks at Loh Buaya and at Loh Liang on Komodo, and Padar ridge hikes, which tells you where visitors go but does not settle who charges what. Guides also cannot promise wildlife, and neither can we. Dragons are wild animals, and no walk comes with a sighting attached.

Do you need a permit to fly a drone?

Yes. The park authority requires a permit application to fly a drone inside the park, and Kompas reports that activities such as diving, fishing and flying a drone carry their own tickets under park rules. The official page text does not state the fee, and we have not confirmed a figure, so we give none here. Komodo Resort's charter guide lists drone permits among the usual exclusions from a charter rate, so assume the cost and the paperwork are yours unless the offer says otherwise.

Start early if aerial footage matters to you. A private charter does not change the need to apply. Decide who holds the application, you or the operator, and whose name and equipment details go on it. Ask your guide on the day about any local restriction on ordinary photography too.

What happens without a ticket?

Kompas reports that the park authority announced a fine of five times the normal tariff for entry without a ticket, in an announcement dated 23 September 2026. The acting head of the authority said direct application may start next year. So the rule has been announced, and we cannot confirm that it is being applied today. The foreign visitor figure as reported appears in the price table on this page.

For a guest on a properly run charter, this should never come up, because the operator registers you before departure. The fine does give you a reason to check that your provider has actually done so. A short request for confirmation that all names are registered, sent a few days before you sail, costs nothing and closes the gap.

How do the rules change the itinerary?

Beyond tickets, the harbour side has a direct effect on routing. Antara reported on 9 January 2026 that the Labuan Bajo harbourmaster barred boat movement at night in park waters, especially at risk points such as the Padar Strait, while noting that three-day, two-night trips can still run. A seller's route written before that date may not reflect it. Our page on the night movement ban explains what it does to overnight crossings.

Put together, the rules favour a plain approach to the route. Ask for it in writing with named stops, ask which stops depend on a guide or an activity ticket, and ask what the fallback is if a stop is full or a passage is restricted. A provider who has thought about these questions will answer quickly, and that answer tells you something on its own.

Which published prices did we check?

Operator rate pages, agent listings and park fees, each with its source and the month we checked it. A "from" rate is a starting figure, not a quote and not our offer. Tax, season and dates change the total, so check the source before you rely on a figure.

Which published prices did we check?
ItemPublished priceSourceChecked
Komodo National Park ticket, foreign visitor, per person per day (PP 36/2024, as reported by Kompas)IDR 250,000travel.kompas.comNov 2026
Fine for a foreign visitor entering without a ticket, announced Sep 2026, direct application may start next year (as reported by Kompas)IDR 1,250,000travel.kompas.comNov 2026
Guiding at Loh Buaya and Gili Lawa, per group of 5 (park authority page)IDR 200,000 per grouptnkomodo.ksdae.kehutanan.go.idNov 2026

What do readers ask about Komodo park rules?

Can I buy a Komodo park ticket on arrival?

No, not according to Neptune Liveaboards' guide, which says SiOra registration has been required since 1 April 2026 with no walk-in tickets, and that licensed operators register their passengers.

Does a private charter get around the visitor quota?

Not as far as we can confirm, so ask your provider how the quota affects your dates and stops.

What if the name on my booking differs from my passport?

Fix it before departure. Neptune Liveaboards' guide says the name entered must match the passport exactly, so send your provider the exact passport spelling and report any change straight away.

Can I fly a drone from the boat in Komodo?

Only with a permit. The park authority requires an application to fly a drone inside the park, and its page text does not state the fee, so ask for the current terms when you apply.

If my rate includes park fees, do I still have paperwork to do?

Yes. Vela and Lamima publish rates that include park fees, but a provider still needs your correct passport names to register you, and a drone permit stays a separate application.

Which sources support this page?

How do I reach the desk?

Ask the desk about a park rule on your route by WhatsApp on +62 811-3941-4563 or by email to bd@juaraholding.com. Rules change, so check any answer against the authority's own page.

Comparing luxury phinisi from Labuan Bajo?

Send the desk your dates, group size, and budget range. The desk replies in writing.

Ask the desk on WhatsApp bd@juaraholding.com